What amazing day we had on Saturday! We here at 4sqday HQ have read and seen so many fantastic stories that took place all over the world. Over the next few weeks we are going to highlight some of them. The first, submitted by David Krumlauf, is touching. Lots of people have 4sqday birthdays, but this one was a little special...

I love foursquare and have used it for almost 2 years now. Foursquare is an essential tool at conferences and my wife loves seeing where I go when I’m out of town. So I’m all excited about Foursquare Day. I have the official 4Sq Day t-shirt and arranged to meet some friends at 4:16pm to celebrate the day.

I woke up early Saturday morning as per usual and saw a text message from my son Zeb saying that his wife Melinda was in labor and they were heading to the hospital. As you can imagine, I was so excited I had to post this news on my Facebook and Twitter accounts. It took a while for me to realize that I was going to get my second grandchild on 4sq Day. I was really excited then!

More posts to spread the excitement and lots of replies of congratulations followed. My wife Joan and I are about to head into the hospital when my son texts that it’s a girl. We’re all so happy for them and pleased that our gorgeous granddaughter Jade will have a baby sister. We arrive at the hospital to a joyous scene with lots of family present to welcome our new granddaughter Sienna Lee.

Of course, the first thing I do is Check In then post a picture of me wearing my 4sq. Day t-shirt holding my granddaughter who is only 2 hours old. She might as well know now what kind of grandfather she has.

What an amazing day! We all couldn’t be happier to have a healthy new baby in the family and being born on 4sq Day makes even more memorable. Thanks to all the 4square folks for being so supportive and making foursquare the amazing tool it is.

 

If you have a 4sqday story that you want to share, email it to nate@4sqday.com!

